Among the Lesser Gods

For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction.

Among the Lesser Gods

Among the Lesser Gods

For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother's abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she's intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother's isolated cabin and wait for something–anything–to make her next choice for her. But instead of escape, she finds reminders of her own troubles reflected from every side–the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena's own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to reconsider her role in the tragedies she's held on to and the wounds she's refused to let heal. But then, in a single afternoon, when threads of cause and effect tangle, Elena's fragile new peace is torn apart. It's only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably bound together–and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised.

More Books:

Among the Lesser Gods
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Margo Catts
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-09 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as
Among the Lesser Gods
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: John H. Player
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher:

Books about Among the Lesser Gods
The Lesser Gods of the Sahara
Language: en
Pages: 298
Authors: Jeremy Keenan
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Psychology Press

The eight essays that comprise this collection cover various aspects of social change and contested terrain amongst the Tuareg people Algeria.
The Bhagavad Gita
Language: en
Pages: 294
Authors: Eknath Easwaran
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-05-17 - Publisher: Nilgiri Press

In the Bhagavad Gita, Prince Arjuna asks direct, uncompromising questions of his spiritual guide on the eve of a great battle. In this expanded edition of the most famous —and popular — of Indian criptures, Eknath Easwaran contextualizes the book culturally and historically and explains the key concepts of Hindu
Yahweh's Council
Language: en
Pages: 238
Authors: Ellen White
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-28 - Publisher: Mohr Siebeck

Ellen White explores the depiction of the divine council under the authority of Yahweh in the type-scenes of the Hebrew Bible. She proposes criteria for determining a Council of Yahweh type-scene and membership requirements. Following these criteria the Council of Yahweh texts are Isaiah 6, 1 Kings 22, Job 1-2,

Popular All Time

The Last Black Unicorn
Where the Deer and the Antelope Play
Based on a True Story
Everyone You Hate Is Going to Die
A Confederacy of Dumptys
The Best of Me
Trumpty Dumpty Wanted a Crown
Please Don't Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes
Nice Try
The Babylon Bee Guide to Wokeness
Modern Romance
Paddle Your Own Canoe
Calypso
Me Talk Pretty One Day
3 x Carlin
Next Level Basic
Napalm & Silly Putty
Go Ask Ali

Recent Books: