Heritage Pilgrimage and the Camino to Finisterre

Guía mágica del Camino de Santiago. De Puigcerdá al Finisterre, por el Camino de las estrellas. Barcelona: Indigo. Arrondo, E. G. (1971). Route to Santiago.

Heritage  Pilgrimage and the Camino to Finisterre

Heritage Pilgrimage and the Camino to Finisterre

This book presents research concerning the effects of the Camino to Finisterre on the daily lives of the populations who live along the route, and the heritagization processes that exploitation of the Camino for tourism purposes involves. Rather than focusing on the route to Santiago de Compostela and the pilgrimage itself, it instead examines a peculiar part of the route, the Camino to Finisterre, employing multiple perspectives that consider the processes of heritagization, the effects of the pilgrimage on local communities, and the motivations of the pilgrims. The book is based on a three-year research project and is the result of a multidisciplinary collaboration between anthropologists, sociologists, historians and archaeologists. Instead of ending in Santiago, as the rest of the Caminos do, this route continues to the cape of Finisterre on the Galician Atlantic coast. This part of the Camino de Santiago is not officially recognized by the Catholic Church and does not count as part of reaching Compostela, the recognition granted by the Catholic Church to those pilgrims who have walked at least 100 km. For this reason, as well as its relationship with the sun cult, many pilgrims call this route “the Camino of the atheists.” In fact, the Catholic Church is a strong force for the heritagization of the rest of the Caminos, and maintains a clear ignoratio strategy concerning the Finisterre route: Officially, the church neither opposes nor recognizes this route.

More Books:

Heritage, Pilgrimage and the Camino to Finisterre
Language: en
Pages: 211
Authors: Cristina Sánchez-Carretero
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-02 - Publisher: Springer

This book presents research concerning the effects of the Camino to Finisterre on the daily lives of the populations who live along the route, and the heritagization processes that exploitation of the Camino for tourism purposes involves. Rather than focusing on the route to Santiago de Compostela and the pilgrimage
Pilgrims' Steps
Language: en
Pages: 206
Authors: Robert Hodum
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-09-01 - Publisher: iUniverse

The "Way" embodies the fulfillment of a pilgrimage route tied to sacred terrain shared by prehistoric man, ancient Bronze Age peoples, early Christians, pilgrims of the Middle Ages, and today's faithful. To do pilgrimage to Compostela is to be part of all of this. The Way's valleys and hills, tree
Road Of Stars To Santiago
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Edward F. Stanton
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-21 - Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

In the tradition of Colin Fletcher's The Man Who Walked Through Time and William Least Heat-Moon's Blue Highways, Edward F. Stanton has written a quietly beautiful and engrossing account of his own pilgrimage. Road of Stars to Santiago is a personal story of his journey along what has been called
Following the Milky Way
Language: en
Pages: 316
Authors: Elyn Aviva
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher: Pilgrims Process, Inc.

Following the Milky Way is the story of Elyn Aviva's 500-mile-long journey on foot on the Camino de Santiago. This 1000-year-old pilgrimage road stretches from the French Pyrenees across northern Spain to Santiago de Compostela, supposed tomb of St. James the Apostle. It is a journey that crosses the landscape
Camino de Santiago
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Cordula Rabe
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-30 - Publisher: Bergverlag Rother GmbH

With over 1000 years of history, the Way of St. James is one of the classic long distance walks. This historical route along almost 1000 kilometres from the Pyrenees to Santiago de Compostela offers unique cultural, scenic and nature experiences. Since the Holy Year of 2010 the Way of St.

Popular All Time

Women, Food, and Hormones
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
The Four Agreements
The 48 Laws of Power
The Amazing Power of Deliberate Intent
A Course in Miracles Made Easy
The Body Keeps the Score
Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life
12 Rules for Life
This Is Your Brain on Birth Control
Keep Sharp
The Universe Has Your Back
You Are a Badass at Making Money
The Map of Consciousness Explained
How To Win Friends & Influence People
The Power of Now
What Happened to You?
Get Over It!

Recent Books: