I Always Loved You

Édouard's plump wife often swept in with a market basket over her arm, always knocking over stacks of blank canvases in her haste. After relaying some triviality about her youngest brother, Léon, she would venture, “That is quite a ...

I Always Loved You

I Always Loved You

A story of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas, from the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter Robin Oliveira’s latest novel, Winter Sisters, will be available in February from Viking The young Mary Cassatt never thought moving to Paris after the Civil War to be an artist was going to be easy, but when, after a decade of work, her submission to the Paris Salon is rejected, Mary’s fierce determination wavers. Her father is begging her to return to Philadelphia to find a husband before it is too late, her sister Lydia is falling mysteriously ill, and worse, Mary is beginning to doubt herself. Then one evening a friend introduces her to Edgar Degas and her life changes forever. Years later she will learn that he had begged for the introduction, but in that moment their meeting seems a miracle. So begins the defining period of her life and the most tempestuous of relationships. In I Always Loved You, Robin Oliveira brilliantly re-creates the irresistible world of Belle Époque Paris, writing with grace and uncommon insight into the passion and foibles of the human heart. For readers of The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan.

More Books:

I Always Loved You
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Robin Oliveira
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-04 - Publisher: Penguin

A story of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas, from the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter Robin Oliveira’s latest novel, Winter Sisters, will be available in February from Viking The young Mary Cassatt never thought moving to Paris after the Civil War to be an
Forever, Erma
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Erma Bombeck
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997-08 - Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

A collection of newspaper columns by the late humorist, including her first and last, deal with children, marriage, food, and holiday entertaining, and are accompanied by a chapter of tributes from her friends
The Hidden Stairwell
Language: en
Pages: 182
Authors: Jesslyn Rene’e Street
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-07 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

As a child I would write everything in my diaries. As a young girl I became infatuated with poetry. How every word could become a feeling.That would sweep you off the page into your very own world. Its simply amazing how ink on a page can be the paintbrush to
Delphi Collected Works of Grant Allen (Illustrated)
Language: en
Pages: 8133
Authors: Grant Allen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-08 - Publisher: Delphi Classics

The Canadian science writer and novelist, Grant Allen was an early proponent of the theory of evolution. His first books dealt with scientific subjects, being influenced by associationist psychology as expounded by Alexander Bain and by Herbert Spencer. However, as his career developed he became a bestselling novelist of the
Hard Times
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Charles Dickens
Categories: Fiction in English
Type: BOOK - Published: 1854 - Publisher:

The world of Hard Times For These Times revolves around a small industrial town firmly in the grip of one businessman. Bounderby is owner of the local mill and Gradgrind, his employee, is the schoolmaster--together they define and enforce the town's moral character with an iron fist. Many of the

Popular All Time

Rich Dad Poor Dad
Atomic Habits
The Bullet Journal Method
The One-Page Financial Plan
Never Split the Difference
Rich Dad Poor Dad
The Psychology of Money
Extreme Ownership
The Perfect Day to Boss Up
Kitchen Confidential
Dare to Lead
Who Moved My Cheese?
The Art of Decision Making
The Gap and The Gain
Start with Why
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People
Courage Is Calling
The Compound Effect (10th Anniversary Edition)

Recent Books: