Icebound

But here are some of the key people with a role in helping to bring Icebound to
life. I'm grateful to each one in different ways. Rick Horgan, who acquired
Icebound for Scribner and was my partner in crime, has an eagle eye for noticing
what's ...

Icebound

Icebound

In the bestselling tradition of Hampton Sides’s In the Kingdom of Ice, a riveting and cinematic tale of Dutch polar explorer William Barents and his three harrowing Arctic expeditions—the last of which resulted in a relentlessly challenging year-long fight for survival. The human story has always been one of perseverance—often against remarkable odds. The most astonishing survival tale of all might be that of 16th-century Dutch explorer William Barents and his crew of sixteen, who ventured farther north than any Europeans before and, on their third polar exploration, lost their ship off the frozen coast of Nova Zembla to unforgiving ice. The men would spend the next year fighting off ravenous polar bears, gnawing hunger, and endless winter. In Icebound, Andrea Pitzer masterfully combines a gripping tale of survival with a sweeping history of the great Age of Exploration—a time of hope, adventure, and seemingly unlimited geographic frontiers. At the story’s center is William Barents, one of the 16th century’s greatest navigators whose larger-than-life ambitions and obsessive quest to chart a path through the deepest, most remote regions of the Arctic ended in both tragedy and glory. Journalist Pitzer did extensive research, learning how to use four-hundred-year-old navigation equipment, setting out on three Arctic expeditions to retrace Barents’s steps, and visiting replicas of Barents’s ship and cabin. “A visceral, thrilling account full of tantalizing surprises” (Andrea Barrett, author of The Voyage of the Narwhal ), Pitzer’s reenactment of Barents’s ill-fated journey shows us how the human body can function at twenty degrees below, the history of mutiny, the art of celestial navigation, and the intricacies of building shelters. But above all, it gives us a first-hand glimpse into the true nature of human courage.

More Books:

Icebound
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Andrea Pitzer
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-12 - Publisher: Scribner

In the bestselling tradition of Hampton Sides’s In the Kingdom of Ice, a riveting and cinematic tale of Dutch polar explorer William Barents and his three harrowing Arctic expeditions—the last of which resulted in a relentlessly challenging year-long fight for survival. The human story has always been one of perseverance—often
Icebound
Language: en
Pages: 122
Authors: Owen Davis
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-29 - Publisher:

This collection of literature attempts to compile many of the classic works that have stood the test of time and offer them at a reduced, affordable price, in an attractive volume so that everyone can enjoy them.
Icebound
Language: en
Pages: 253
Authors: Dean Koontz
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-06 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A desperate struggle for survival... Set in the Arctic icefields, Dean Koontz's Icebound is a compelling thriller that delivers icy chills. Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Richard Laymon. 'Jammed with the tensions of imminent disaster. The whole thing unfolds with the timing of a quartz watch' - Chicago
Icebound
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Julie Rowe
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11-14 - Publisher: Carina Press

Dr. Emilie Saunderson is driven to finish her late husband's research. Her quest brings her to Antarctica, where she hopes to find a measure of peace in the isolated and icy wilderness. It's the last place on earth she expects to be given a second chance at love. Tom Wolinski
A Study Guide for Owen Davis's
Language: en
Pages: 20
Authors: Gale, Cengage Learning
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning

A Study Guide for Owen Davis's "Icebound", excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Drama for Students.This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Drama for Students for all of your research needs.

Popular All Time

The Third Pole
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf
2020 NFHS Softball Rules Book
Bigger Leaner Stronger
Seven Days in Augusta
The Boys in the Boat
The Mamba Mentality
Relentless
ChiRunning
Hornady 10th Edition Handbook of Cartridge Reloading
Legacy
2020 NFHS Boys Lacrosse Rules Book
Zen Golf
Dark Summit
Your Short Game Solution
2020 NFHS Track and Field and Cross Country Rules Book
Finding Ultra, Revised and Updated Edition
The Inner Game of Tennis

Recent Books: