Miss Graham s Cold War Cookbook

"A perfect summer read; gripping, original, well-drawn and compassionate"--Joanne Harris "Celia Rees is a superb writer, and this novel has one of the most irresistible and unique story hooks I've ever come across.

Miss Graham s Cold War Cookbook

Miss Graham s Cold War Cookbook

"A perfect summer read; gripping, original, well-drawn and compassionate"--Joanne Harris "Celia Rees is a superb writer, and this novel has one of the most irresistible and unique story hooks I've ever come across. This book deserves to be huge!"--Sophie Hannah A striking historical novel about an ordinary young British woman sent to uncover a network of spies and war criminals in post-war Germany that will appeal to fans of The Huntress and Transcription. World War II has just ended, and Britain has established the Control Commission for Germany, which oversees their zone of occupation. The Control Commission hires British civilians to work in Germany, rebuild the shattered nation and prosecute war crimes. Somewhat aimless, bored with her job as a provincial schoolteacher, and unwilling to live with her overbearing mother any longer, thirtysomething Edith Graham applies for a job with the Commission—but she is also recruited by her cousin, Leo, who is in the Secret Service. To them, Edith is perfect spy material...single, ordinary-looking, with a college degree in German. Cousin Leo went to Oxford with one of their most hunted war criminals, Count Kurt von Stavenow, who Edith remembers all too well from before the war. He wants her to find him. Intrigued by the challenge, Edith heads to Germany armed with a convincing cover story: she's an unassuming Education Officer sent to help resurrect German schools. To send information back to her Secret Service handlers in London, Edith has crafted the perfect alter ego, cookbook author Stella Snelling, who writes a popular magazine cookery column. She embeds crucial intelligence within the recipes she collects. But occupied Germany is awash with other spies, collaborators, and opportunists, and as she's pulled into their world, Edith soon discovers that no one is what they seem to be. The closer she gets to uncovering von Stavenow's whereabouts--and the network of German civilians who still support him--the greater the danger. With a unique, compelling premise, Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook is a beautifully crafted and gripping novel about daring, betrayal, and female friendship.

More Books:

Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Celia Rees
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-07 - Publisher: HarperCollins

"A perfect summer read; gripping, original, well-drawn and compassionate"--Joanne Harris "Celia Rees is a superb writer, and this novel has one of the most irresistible and unique story hooks I've ever come across. This book deserves to be huge!"--Sophie Hannah A striking historical novel about an ordinary young British woman
Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook
Language: en
Pages: 643
Authors: Celia Rees
Categories: Cold War
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher:

Germany, 1946. A reluctant spy is born. Edith Graham has always flown under the radar. Working for years as a teacher in a girls' school, she had a quiet war, sequestered away in the English countryside. But beneath her quiet exterior lies the heart of an adventurer.When a family friend
Miss Graham’s War
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Celia Rees
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-14 - Publisher: HarperCollins

Germany, 1946 History hides many secrets One woman will hunt for the truth... *Previously published as ‘Miss Graham’s Cold War Cookbook’*
Sorceress
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Celia Rees
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-05-03 - Publisher: A&C Black

As Witch Child ends so Sorceress begins. Alison Ellman is still searching for information about Mary Newbury; she has a diary and some scattered information about other people in Mary's life, but Mary has disappeared into the forests and Alison has no way of following her. But when she meets
Witch Child
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Celia Rees
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-05-03 - Publisher: A&C Black

When Mary sees her grandmother accused of witchcraft and hanged for the crime, she is silently hurried to safety by an unknown woman. The woman gives her tools to keep the record of her days - paper and ink. Mary is taken to a boat in Plymouth and from there

Popular All Time

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
Gut Health Hacks
The Daily Laws
The Body Keeps the Score
The Four Agreements
The Mountain Is You
The 48 Laws of Power
12 Rules for Life
What Happened to You?
The Power of Now
The 5 AM Club
101 Essays That Will Change the Way You Think
How to win friends & influence people
Come As You Are: Revised and Updated
The High 5 Habit
Rationality
Alcoholics Anonymous, Fourth Edition
Signs

Recent Books:

The Formation and Transmission of Western Legal Culture
Authors: Serge Dauchy, Georges Martyn, Anthony Musson, Heikki Pihlajamäki, Alain Wijffels - Categories: Law - Published: 2016-12-01
Manipulationstechniken
Authors: Andreas Edmüller - Categories: Law - Published: 2011-12-23
Das Darlehen und die Irreguläre Hinterlegung
Authors: Eduard Frankel - Categories: Law - Published: 2017-10-24
Judikative Rechtserzeugung
Authors: Mehrdad Payandeh - Categories: Law - Published: 2017-06-07
Lizenzmodelle im kollektiven Wahrnehmungsrecht
Authors: Till Valentin Völger - Categories: Law - Published: 2020-10-27