The Life She Was Given

A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection “A powerful, poignant novel.” —In Touch, Grade A From the internationally bestselling ...

The Life She Was Given

The Life She Was Given

A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection “A powerful, poignant novel.” —In Touch, Grade A From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a beautifully written and moving tale of family secrets and the importance of a mother’s love—and how it can shape a life—even in the most shocking ways. A painful saga of strength and reinvention perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lisa Wingate—set in two different times, as two young women come of age and uncover the mysteries of their families, and find their own ways in the world… On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood glimpses circus lights from the grimy window of her attic bedroom. Lilly isn’t allowed to explore the meadows around Blackwood Manor. She’s never even ventured beyond her narrow room. Momma insists it’s for Lilly’s own protection, that people would be afraid if they saw her. But on this unforgettable night, Lilly is taken outside for the first time—and sold to the circus sideshow. More than two decades later, nineteen-year-old Julia Blackwood has inherited her parents’ estate and horse farm. For Julia, home was an unhappy place full of strict rules and forbidden rooms, and she hopes that returning might erase those painful memories. Instead, she becomes immersed in a mystery involving a hidden attic room and photos of circus scenes featuring a striking young girl. At first, The Barlow Brothers’ Circus is just another prison for Lilly. But in this rag-tag, sometimes brutal world, Lilly discovers strength, friendship, and a rare affinity for animals. Soon, thanks to elephants Pepper and JoJo and their handler, Cole, Lilly is no longer a sideshow spectacle but the circus’s biggest attraction...until tragedy and cruelty collide. It will fall to Julia to learn the truth about Lilly’s fate and her family’s shocking betrayal, and find a way to make Blackwood Manor into a place of healing at last. Moving between Julia and Lilly’s stories, Ellen Marie Wiseman portrays two extraordinary, very different women in a novel that, while tender and heartbreaking, offers moments of joy and indomitable hope. “Perfect for book clubs and readers who admired Sara Gruen’s Like Water for Elephants.” —Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW “A vibrant maze of desires.” —ForeWord Reviews “Seamlessly blends mystery and history with compelling and well-researched details.” —The Historical Novels Review “Vividly drawn and complex…Fans of Karen White and Sara Gruen will be drawn in by the drama and mystery of Wiseman’s novel.” —BookPage

More Books:

The Life She Was Given
Language: un
Pages: 304
Authors: Ellen Marie Wiseman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-25 - Publisher: Kensington Books

A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection “A powerful, poignant novel.” —In Touch, Grade A From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a beautifully written and moving tale of family secrets
'18'
Language: en
Pages: 58
Authors: Sumedha Nag
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-11-10 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

Sumedha Nag was born in White Plains, New York in 1996. Since a very young age she has been an avid writer and has uniquely captured her impressions and emotions through her writings whether it is the poems, or the essays and short stories. Being a high school senior, she
Lady with Carnations
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: A. J. Cronin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-03-14 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Lady with Carnations is not only the traditional name of a famous Holbein miniature which unexpectedly comes into a London salesroom in the mid-thirties: it is also the soubriquet by which some of her close friends think of the antique-dealer who buys it. Katharine Lorimer, by hard work, flair and
A Tribute to 101 Incredible Women of Distinction Who Influenced My Life From My House to the White House
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: M. Joyce Dickerson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-06-29 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Originally this book was centered on identifying only one hundred women until Mrs. Michelle Obama became the first African American First Lady; thus it became apparent that she had to be added to this list thereby she became the one hundred and one most influential women in my life. I
The Life and Death of Trotsky
Language: en
Pages: 498
Authors: Robert Payne
Categories: Communists
Type: BOOK - Published: 1977 - Publisher: New York ; Toronto : McGraw-Hill

Books about The Life and Death of Trotsky

Popular All Time

You Can Have an Amazing Memory
Observe to Unmask: 100 Small Things to Know People Better
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
The Four Agreements
The 48 Laws of Power
The Body Keeps the Score
What Happened to You?
Winning
How to Do the Work
The Power of Now
12 Rules for Life
Think and Grow Rich
You Are a Badass®
Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions
Alcoholics Anonymous, Fourth Edition
The Foot Fix
How to win friends & influence people
The Gifts of Imperfection

Recent Books:

Rudolf Steiner
Authors: Rudolf Steiner - Categories: Philosophy - Published: 2004
A History of Liturgical Books from the Beginning to the Thirteenth Century
Authors: Eric Palazzo - Categories: Religion - Published: 1998
Handbuch der deutschen evangelischen Kirchen, 1918 bis 1949
Authors: Heinz Boberach - Categories: Religion - Published: 2010
The Books of Simion
Authors: Ivory Simion - Categories: Religion - Published: 2015-01-23
Jerusalem im Quran
Authors: Imran N. Hosein - Categories: Religion - Published: 2017-08-03