The Rest Is Noise

Winner of the 2007 National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism A New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book of the Year Time magazine Top Ten Nonfiction Book of 2007 Newsweek Favorite Books of 2007 A Washington Post Book World Best Book ...

The Rest Is Noise

The Rest Is Noise

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

More Books:

The Rest Is Noise
Language: un
Pages: 640
Authors: Alex Ross
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-10-16 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music
The Rest Is Noise Series: Dance of the Earth: The Rite, the Folk, le Jazz
Language: un
Pages: 55
Authors: Alex Ross
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-17 - Publisher: HarperCollins UK

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.
The Rest Is Noise Series: City of Nets: Berlin in the Twenties
Language: un
Pages: 30
Authors: Alex Ross
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-02-28 - Publisher: HarperCollins UK

This is a chapter taken from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, The Rest is Noise.
The Rest Is Noise Series: Beethoven Was Wrong: Bop, Rock, and the Minimalists
Language: un
Pages: 30
Authors: Alex Ross
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-10 - Publisher: HarperCollins UK

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.
The Rest is Noise
Language: un
Pages:
Authors: Alex Ross
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher:

Books about The Rest is Noise

Popular All Time

The Body Keeps the Score
12 Rules for Life
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
The 48 Laws of Power
The Four Agreements
What Happened to You?
Fast. Feast. Repeat.
Relaxercise
The Power of Now
You Are a Badass®
Think and Grow Rich
Winning
Becoming Supernatural
Alcoholics Anonymous, Fourth Edition
How to win friends & influence people
The Mastery of Love
The Skinny Confidential's Get the F*ck Out of the Sun
Unfu*k Yourself

Recent Books: