The Sweetness of Water

An Oprah Book Club Pick '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it.

The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' ***** 'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' ***** 'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' ***** 'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

More Books:

The Sweetness of Water
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Hachette UK

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery
The Sweetness of Water
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-06 - Publisher:

In the spirit of The Known World and The Underground Railroad, a profound debut about the unlikely bond between two freedmen who are brothers and the Georgia farmer whose alliance will alter their lives, and his, forever. In the waning days of the Civil War, brothers Prentiss and Landry---freed by
The Sweetness of Bitter Water
Language: en
Pages: 204
Authors: Antonia Riley
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-07-07 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

The Sweetness of Bitter Water New Book features a fantastic series of adventures and discovery of many cultures through the viewpoint of a passionate woman Hamble, United Kingdom (Release Date TBD) Exploring the world has its challenges and rewards, and most importantly it can lead people to new boundaries of
The Sweetness of Life
Language: en
Pages: 266
Authors: Jamie Zunick
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03 - Publisher: Balboa Press

Wrongfully misdiagnosed with a mental disability as a child, Jamie Zunick finds her only solace in endlessly wandering though a remarkable world. While searching for a home, a place to belong, Jamie, a self-determined seeker and explorer, suddenly finds herself on a path of forgiveness, understanding, and endless self-discovery. Traveling
The Sweetness of Forgetting
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Kristin Harmel
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-07 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A baker in Cape Cod, Massachusetts, must travel to Paris to uncover a family secret for her dying grandmother—and what she learns may change everything. The Sweetness of Forgetting is the book that made Kristin Harmel an international bestseller. At thirty-six, Hope McKenna-Smith is no stranger to bad news. She

Popular All Time

Peril
Unrequited Infatuations
I'll Take Your Questions Now
Bourdain
No Cure for Being Human
The Storyteller
My Life in Full
Hitler's Hangman
Can't Hurt Me
I Am These Truths
Greenlights
Warning: This Is Not a Motivational Story
Left to Tell
My First Thirty Years
Yours Cruelly, Elvira
Educated
Untamed
You Got Anything Stronger?

Recent Books: