There There

One of the Best Books of the Year: The Washington Post, NPR, Time, O, The Oprah Magazine, The Dallas Morning News, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, BuzzFeed, San Francisco Chronicle, The Boston Globe

There There

There There

“Powerful. . . . a revelation.” —The New York Times “With a literary authority rare in a debut novel, it places Native American voices front and center before readers’ eyes.” —NPR/Fresh Air One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year and winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award, Tommy Orange’s wondrous and shattering bestselling novel follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize. Among them is Jacquie Red Feather, newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind. Dene Oxendene, pulling his life together after his uncle’s death and working at the powwow to honor his memory. Fourteen-year-old Orvil, coming to perform traditional dance for the very first time. Together, this chorus of voices tells of the plight of the urban Native American—grappling with a complex and painful history, with an inheritance of beauty and spirituality, with communion and sacrifice and heroism. Hailed as an instant classic, There There is at once poignant and unflinching, utterly contemporary and truly unforgettable. One of the Best Books of the Year: The Washington Post, NPR, Time, O, The Oprah Magazine, The Dallas Morning News, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, BuzzFeed, San Francisco Chronicle, The Boston Globe

More Books:

There There
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Tommy Orange
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-05 - Publisher: Vintage

“Powerful. . . . a revelation.” —The New York Times “With a literary authority rare in a debut novel, it places Native American voices front and center before readers’ eyes.” —NPR/Fresh Air One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year and winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award,
There, There
Language: en
Pages: 24
Authors: Tim Beiser
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-06 - Publisher: Tundra Books

For fans of Penguin Problems and A Birthday for Bear, the story of a whiny rabbit pushing a patient bear to the end of his tether and learning a lesson in looking on the bright side. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and
A Fool There Was
Language: en
Pages: 189
Authors: Porter Emerson Browne
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-09 - Publisher: Good Press

"A Fool There Was" by Porter Emerson Browne. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good
No There There
Language: en
Pages: 323
Authors: Chris Rhomberg
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-26 - Publisher: Univ of California Press

"This sophisticated account of a remarkable city's coalitions and conflicts over half a century is an outstanding contribution to urban history and political analysis. Clearly written and amply supplied with good stories, the book will interest students of urban history, social movements, and American political change."—Charles Tilly, author of Durable
There, There
Language: en
Pages: 24
Authors: Taro Miura
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-01 - Publisher:

Cow goes moo moo! Dog goes woof woof! But - uh-oh! - what can we do when Baby goes wah wah? Give Baby a lovely, big cuddle and say, 'There, there'.

Popular All Time

Ocean Prey
The Devil's Hand
Twisted Twenty-Six
Hush Little Girl
The Scorpion's Tail
The Good Sister
The Perfect Impression (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book Thirteen)
Stargazer
The Child
The Red Book
Death on Tuckernuck
When the Stars Go Dark
The Terminal List
Win
Some Die Eloquent
The Black Book
Northern Spy
Land of Wolves

Recent Books: